It’s better to have loved a Short / Than never to have loved a tall."

-—Martin Short

Martin Short

2017 Lifetime Artistic Achievement Award (Broadcasting)

Actor, writer and producer

Acclaimed stage and screen actor Martin Short is known for his wacky comedic characters and dead-on impressions, notably on SCTV and Saturday Night Live. In a career spanning over 40 years, he has delighted audiences across North America and beyond, and made laughter an important Canadian export.
Martin Short was born in 1950 in Hamilton, Ontario. After graduating from McMaster University with a degree in social work, he was cast in a 1972 production of Godspell, which launched his entertainment career. He joined The Second City improvisational theatre troupe and subsequently appeared in the TV series SCTV and Saturday Night Live, creating such memorable characters as obnoxious talk show host Jiminy Glick and the excitable, spiky-haired Ed Grimley.
He has starred in several comedies, including Three Amigos, Innerspace, Three Fugitives, Father of the Bride I and II, Mars Attacks! (alongside fellow GGPAA recipient Michael J. Fox), Clifford, and Inherent Vice.
On television, he hosted The Martin Short Show (1994, nominated for eight Emmy Awards), and co-hosted the NBC variety show Maya & Marty with Maya Rudolph. He wrote, produced and starred in three acclaimed comedy specials. He has appeared in guest roles on Law and Order: Special Victims Unit, Arrested Development, How I Met Your Mother, Weeds, and Mulaney, and played lawyer Leonard Winstone in the legal drama Damages.
Mr. Short has also appeared in several stage productions, including his autobiographical one-man show, Martin Short: Fame Becomes Me, on Broadway and on tour. He was nominated for a Tony Award for his Broadway debut in The Goodbye Girl, and won the Tony for Leading Actor in a Musical for the 1999 Broadway revival of Little Me.
He published his memoir, I Must Say: My Life as a Humble Comedy Legend, in 2014.
Among other honours, Martin Short is a Member of the Order of Canada and a recipient of the Queen Elizabeth II Golden and Diamond Jubilee medals. He was inducted into Canada’s Walk of Fame in 2000, and was one of five Canadian comedians honoured on commemorative stamps issued by Canada Post in 2014.

It’s better to have loved a Short / Than never to have loved a tall. »
 

-—Martin Short

Martin Short

Prix de la réalisation artistique 2017 (Radiotélédiffusion)

Comédien, scénariste et producteur

Le réputé acteur Martin Short est célèbre pour ses personnages délirants et ses remarquables imitations, notamment aux émissions SCTV et Saturday Night Live. En plus de 40 ans de carrière, il a fait rire les auditoires de l’Amérique du Nord et d’ailleurs, et a contribué à exporter l’humour canadien.
 
Martin Short est né en 1950 à Hamilton, en Ontario, et est diplômé de l’Université McMaster en travail social. En 1972, il a fait parti de la distribution de la comédie musicale Godspell, qui a lancé sa carrière. Il s’est joint à la troupe d’improvisation The Second City, puis a participé aux émissions SCTV et Saturday Night Live, créant des personnages mémorables comme l’odieux animateur de talk-show Jiminy Glick et l’excentrique Ed Grimley avec sa coiffure en pic.
 
Au cinéma, il a joué dans plusieurs comédies, dont Trois amigos, L’aventure intérieure (L’InterEspace), Les trois fugitifs, les deux films Le père de la mariée, Mars attaque! (avec son collègue et lauréat d’un PGGAS Michael J. Fox), Clifford et Inherent Vice.
 
À la télévision, il a animé The Martin Short Show (1994, finaliste dans huit catégories aux Emmy Awards) et il était coanimateur de l’émission de variétés de NBC Maya & Marty avec Maya Rudolph. Il a écrit et produit trois émissions spéciales à succès dans lesquelles il a aussi joué. Il a en outre participé comme comédien invité aux séries Law and Order: Special Victims Unit, Les nouveaux pauvres, Comment je l’ai rencontrée, Weeds et Mulaney, et a interprété le rôle de l’avocat Leonard Winstone dans la série dramatique Dommages et intérêts.
 
M. Short s’est également produit sur scène; il a notamment présenté son spectacle solo autobiographique Martin Short: Fame Becomes Me sur Broadway et en tournée. Il a été finaliste aux Tony Awards pour son premier rôle sur Broadway dans The Goodbye Girl et a remporté le Tony pour un premier rôle dans la reprise de la comédie musicale Little Me sur Broadway en 1999.
 
En 2014, il a publié ses mémoires, I Must Say: My Life as a Humble Comedy Legend.
 
Entre autres distinctions, Martin Short est Membre de l’Ordre du Canada et récipiendaire des médailles du jubilé d’or et de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II. Il a été intronisé à l’Allée des célébrités canadiennes en 2000 et a été l’un des cinq comédiens canadiens honorés lors de l’émission d’une série de timbres commémoratifs par Postes Canada en 2014.